Sri Lanka added to UK travel corridor list along with Israel, Namibia and Rwanda

Sri Lanka has been added to the UK travel corridor list by the government, along with Israel, Uruguay, Namibia and Rwanda.

From Saturday, anyone returning from the five countries will no longer have to quarantine for two weeks.

The US Virgin Islands, the Northern Mariana Islands, Bonaire, St Eustatius & Saba have also all been added, with the new rules coming into place from 4am on Saturday.

Transport Secretary Grant Shapps tweeted: “Travel corridor update: ISRAEL, NAMIBIA, RWANDA, SRI LANKA, URUGUAY, BONAIRE, ST EUSTATIUS & SABA, THE NORTHERN MARIANA ISLANDS and THE US VIRGIN ISLANDS have been ADDED to the #TravelCorrdor list.

“If you arrive from these countries after 4am on Saturday 21st Nov you will NOT need to self-isolate. Please remember that under the current restrictions travel outside of the home, with the exception of a limited number of reasons including work or education, is not permitted.”

Brits are currently unable to travel abroad for a holiday due to the current lockdown, which prevents any non-essential travel.

Last week, Greece was removed from the UK’s travel corridor list, dashing hopes of winter breaks but Dubai and Abu Dhabi were added, removing the need for a UK quarantine.

This week, however, no countries have been removed from the air bridge list.

Mr Shapps added: “We will NOT be REMOVING any countries from the #TravelCorridor list this week.”

Brits can travel to Namibia, but need a negative Covid test taken no more than 72 hours beforehand.

Uruguay has the same rules, but also enforces a seven day quarantine while on arrival, which can be left after taking a second test if it is negative.

Rwanda requires the negative test up to 120 hour before travelling, with a mandatory 24 hour quarantine on arrival while awaiting a second test result, which costs $50 (£38.)

For Bonaire and Saba, Brits are banned from entering, but St Eustatius allowed UK arrivals with a mandatory 14-day quarantine on arrival.